Survival Instinct
William Adama and Laura Roslin Fanfiction

Information

Site Stats

Members: 5719
Series: 49
Stories: 2969
Chapters: 7291
Word count: 12494707
Authors: 347
Reviews: 33117
Reviewers: 1140
Newest Member: ALYSDAIR102
 

Most Recent

A Handful of Lauras by Emma Ockham MA

Bïll's grief over Laura's death is softened by her journals and then brusquely interrupted when a Cylon copy of Laura Roslin arrivés in the Fleet.

12 Kingdoms: The Pirate and the Prophet by Princess Arinayed MA
A pirate will go to the extreme when it comes to finding treasure. But what happens when a pig headed prophet happens to be the only way to find it. Pirate...
The Beauty of Love by Kaitlynnlovescats96 T
Bill and Laura take a moment for themselves while orbiting Earth and their story continues after they land on Earth. Takes places during Daybreak, the...

Story of the Moment

The Last Walk by Sira K+
Bill Adama doesn't want to bury the woman he loves. Post Daybreak II fic.

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Info for Writers

Useful reading for improving your writing can be found at HollyLisle.com

Style Switcher

Poll

Would you be interested in Audio versions of some of our A/R stories (with author permission of course)?

yes, excellent idea
yes, excellent idea 32%
no, I take my fix via my eyes
no, I take my fix via my eyes 12%
yes, and I want to help
yes, and I want to help 5%
only if Eddie Olmos is reading...
only if Eddie Olmos is reading... 50%
Poll Archive

Reviews For A Different War

Name: bowlsohard (Signed) · Date: Jul 28, 2013 03:30 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
*gasp*


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: May 13, 2011 07:11 PM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
I know I've already reviewed this, but I had to leave another! I understood and noticed so much more the second time around!!
The names - very sneaky and clever what you did there. I missed it the first time, the swap of first and last names, and then of course the adaptation. I guess I was too busy being miffed the first time, haha :P
It occurred to me this time that this would have to be happening after the events of canon. This made so much more sense to me imagining Rose and Adam having memories of a past life. Not sure why, it just resonated more.
The unknown languages - I missed those the first time too. I imagine 'Laura' speaking scriptures and 'Bill' speaking Tauron...
The knights - I finally got why they were creeping Rose out! Haha, yeah I'm slow...
The 'falling' imagery - I love this. I caught it the first time, but appreciated it all the more this time around. Very beautiful.

Bugs, your stories are always so nuanced. It's marvelous! I'm (relatively speaking) new around these parts, but I've been wanting to work my way through your fics for a while now. Now that I'm finally done school for a while, I actually have the time! I shall take time to read them carefully, since the tapestry is so intricately woven. (Of course, the sexy-Bill part doesn't hurt either :P)

One last thing - this fic is going in my favourites. :)

Cheers.

AR90


Name: KaliClara (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 08:26 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
Lovely story! I like the idea of them in a life before BSG. Thank you!

Author's Response:

Or is it life *after* BSG?  I never could keep that straight!  LOL!

Thanks for reading!

--bugs



Name: lidarose13 (Signed) · Date: May 10, 2011 07:41 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
Damn. "All of this has happened before, all of this will happen again." Haunting phrase that you make your own with this wistful trip for two wary people who just know each other.

Amazing and beautiful.

Have I told you when my birthday is?

Kindest regards,
ljd

Author's Response:

Oh, I love fitting these characters into the different ages.  Surprised I don't do XO Dr Who just to have them flit through the universe!

No, you haven't told me when your birthday is!  :D

--bugs



Name: lemmiwinks (Signed) · Date: May 09, 2011 09:16 PM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
I love this! Great fic :)

Author's Response:

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it!

--bugs



Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2011 07:17 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
Wow, that's so cool! It's such an interesting premise! I have to admit, when you first dropped the names, I was even a little miffed! haha But you quickly showed us that these are, in spirit, the characters we love. It's such a creative idea - meeting in a previous life. I love it! It explains how completely comfortable they are with each other in the future timeline too. I'm curious, how did you come up with it? This idea, I mean. It's absolutely brilliant and totally unique!

Also, on a side note, you know what one of the MANY reasons I love your fics is? Bill. Your picture of Bill always makes me melt! I mean, just those first two paragraphs did me in, and then it just kept getting better! ;)

Author's Response:

OH, you reminded me, I didn't credit my inspiration!  It was a birthday gift for two LJ friends, one who lives in Amsterdam, the other in Rome!  Once I decided to set the story in those locations, I needed a plot.

I didn't realize other AU's didn't give them new names!  It seemed like an obvious technique, but I'll claim the unique card!  

I LOVE writing a sexy Bill, so I'm happy to find a satisfied reader!

--bugs



Name: azzurra (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2011 04:01 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
Totally loved this, especially as they are in one of my all time favourite places, ROME!! I can so see them sailing the seas exploring new places together, gorgeous x

Author's Response:

It's always fun to give A/R some fun, some excitement, and more importantly, getting to live on!

--bugs



Name: TreeofStars (Signed) · Date: May 08, 2011 12:40 AM · For: May 2nd, 2011: Amsterdam:
In love with this. That is all. :)

Author's Response:

Thank you!  

 

--bugs



You must login (register) to review.