Survival Instinct
William Adama and Laura Roslin Fanfiction

Information

Site Stats

Members: 5708
Series: 49
Stories: 2969
Chapters: 7291
Word count: 12494707
Authors: 347
Reviews: 33072
Reviewers: 1137
Newest Member: ollisedi
 

Most Recent

A Handful of Lauras by Emma Ockham MA

Bïll's grief over Laura's death is softened by her journals and then brusquely interrupted when a Cylon copy of Laura Roslin arrivés in the Fleet.

12 Kingdoms: The Pirate and the Prophet by Princess Arinayed MA
A pirate will go to the extreme when it comes to finding treasure. But what happens when a pig headed prophet happens to be the only way to find it. Pirate...
The Beauty of Love by Kaitlynnlovescats96 T
Bill and Laura take a moment for themselves while orbiting Earth and their story continues after they land on Earth. Takes places during Daybreak, the...

Story of the Moment

Hard Landing by Davnee K+
Bill gets a little TLC from Laura. Set on New Caprica, the way New Caprica...

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Info for Writers

Useful reading for improving your writing can be found at HollyLisle.com

Style Switcher

Poll

Would you be interested in Audio versions of some of our A/R stories (with author permission of course)?

yes, excellent idea
yes, excellent idea 32%
no, I take my fix via my eyes
no, I take my fix via my eyes 12%
yes, and I want to help
yes, and I want to help 5%
only if Eddie Olmos is reading...
only if Eddie Olmos is reading... 50%
Poll Archive


Name: Cassandra (Signed) · Date: Jun 08, 2012 12:11 AM · For: Chapter 25
Loved this story! Does it continue?

Author's Response: No, it just rejoins the canon! Bummer, I know!


Name: Midgette (Signed) · Date: Sep 11, 2011 10:16 PM · For: Chapter 25
That was adorkable.

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it!


Name: A4R (Signed) · Date: Dec 09, 2010 10:24 PM · For: Chapter 25
There is so much to enjoy here. I like how you portrayed Adar as pompous but with a few redeeming qualities. Your Kendra Shaw is complex and interesting as she broke away from Cain and helped the fleet in the end. Your action/adventure scenes are always a joy to read and you ended up putting all of the characters back into their canon spots in the end. I enjoyed the fact that Bill and Laura got to have a relationship for a little while but was sad that Laura was so cold-hearted to Bill at the end. It made my little shipper heart sad, especially for Bill. I know, never give up hope. Will you continue this? It's been a great read. Thanks for posting.

Author's Response:

I was sad at the end too!  I hadn't really thought through what this idea would mean, if I intended to return to the canon.  Poor Bill and Laura!

But I'm glad the characterization on the lesser known characters worked for you.  Although I'm all about Bill and Laura, I want the story as a whole to work, and those lesser characters to be real.  

Thanks for the thoughtful review!



Name: cavgirl (Signed) · Date: Dec 09, 2010 04:27 PM · For: Chapter 25
Thought I'd review here, just for a change. Also, is easier than navigating the maze that can be LJ. I finally got round to re-reading this, and I have to say, much as I loved reading the fic whilst in-progress, I absolutely relished being able to absorb it as a finished whole. Really enjoyed this universe, and very clever how you managed to twist so much away from canon, but restore it at the end - and without hitting the reset button! Trek writers could take lessons from you.

I may ask you if I can borrow aspects of your characterisation of Kendra; I think in many ways she's the creepiest character here, even more so than Cain. I loved your Adar, as I said before: you've managed to make him human and not merely a not!Bill cipher.

I can't help wondering, though: how would this past affect Laura and Bill post-election in New Caprica? And after? I suppose it depends on where you stand with the 'when they first frakked' question!

What's next? Finishing the noir fic with Aussie, or are you going to start on the next part of the Stars epic? *g*

Author's Response:

Sometimes I do find it easier to read here myself.  But Aussie is suspicious when I review here!  *I* have no such issues!  

I'm so glad to hear it works as a whole!  Trust me, that's always a worry.  Oh, the Trek resent.  Grrrr...

Go ahead and take some Kendra.  I found her creepy, yet fascinating in Razor, so I think that's what I was working off.  Like, she was odd in the head *before* the attacks and the post-attacks universe just gave her place for it to all come loose.  

And I really wanted to make Adar a real person, since he was going to be in most of the fic.  As much as I'm Team Bill, making Adar a one-dimensional creep only makes Laura look bad!

I still sort of think the UFB scenes suggest something came damn close happening, or did happen, before Laura went down to New Caprica.  I mean, really?  NO ONE else at the Groundbreaking ceremony was dressed up and she was ready to rumble, baby.  It was just so much more than 'it's nice to see you, Bill.'  And then there were the Other Times to be referred to after they get off the rock.  So I think a previous, deep relationship wouldn't push them past the canon, but it may make it very hard to maintain.  ;)

Next = (It's a secret. But you're close.)  

 



Name: A4R (Signed) · Date: Dec 06, 2010 10:10 PM · For: Chapter 12
There is just so much to enjoy with this story. You've taken canon and given it a good shake and created a wonderful story. Cain is truly scary and demented and seemingly unstoppable. You have political intrigue with Laura, Adar, and Zarek. And, you've taken Bill and Laura from awkwardly sharing his quarters to both of them proclaiming their love for each other. I only wish that had happened sooner in canon. That's why this AU is so great. Off to read the next chapter.

Author's Response:

I really love seeing what new stories I can ring out of the canon.  Cain was too good of a character to lose after only three episodes; there was a lot more story in there, and I don't mean Razor!

Being an old Phile, I've always had a weakness for the Only One Bed in the Motel Room trope!  I had to drag it over to BSG!  :D  



Name: lidarose13 (Signed) · Date: Dec 06, 2010 07:25 AM · For: Chapter 25
Damn, damn, damn--how can this be over already? Laura didn't get a chance to completely frak Bill out....oh well, next series of stories.

Creative and compelling retelling of this part of the saga. I know that Bill and Laura have to put some distance between themselves but it still makes me sad, yet like Laura you leave me with hope at the end.

Poor Billy, since there's no Elizabeth he doesn't get to live.

Masterful work as always especially since we Laura revelling in being in love more than we do at other times.

Kindest regards,
ljd

Author's Response:

This was a short story at only 25 chapters!  

I've had to promise I can't kill Billy ever again in a story!  It was pretty painful, I admit.  I just got myself in a pickle with this one, since I was so excited by the idea and then part way through realized Bill and Laura couldn't be together and I'd have to kill Billy!  Awful!

But at least Laura knows she can love.  *sigh*  



Name: A4R (Signed) · Date: Dec 05, 2010 12:13 AM · For: Chapter 4
I love how you have taken this arc and reshuffled the characters. I thought Cain was evil in canon but I think you have made her even worse, if that is possible. Richard, once a cad, always a cad. I look forward to reading more. Thanks for posting.

Author's Response: This story gave me so many great opportunities for moving the roles around.  I enjoyed getting into Cain more than we saw on her brief run on the show.  And then the chance to 'create' Richard was just a blast!  I'm glad you're liking the result!  


Name: Ava (Signed) · Date: Dec 02, 2010 10:22 AM · For: Chapter 15
i am soooooo loving this story! You have me riveted and I can't wait to find to find out what happens with Laura and Bill. I WANT them together...but I do like that you do not make it unrealistic....this is a storylline I could have seen happen in the series...

Author's Response: Ah, it's always great to hear a reader isn't sure what's going to happen next.  And that it's realistic!  Fantasy fics are fun, but I love to see if I can make the story seems like the show.  I'm glad to hear you're enjoying it!  


Name: lidarose13 (Signed) · Date: Dec 01, 2010 07:21 AM · For: Chapter 15
A new life because of circumstances and a new chapter because of Laura's cure but the old obligations to humanity and bigger courses linger.

This is great, I do like them together as a normal couple and it suits Bill to a T. I think Laura will enjoy more as she adjusts to the situation and to loving Bill.

I love that she told him first "I love you". And then he felt like he'd let her down. So them.

Kindest regards,
ljd

Author's Response:

 

I wanted to bring a different twist to things, and having Laura be open about her love for Bill was one way.  But she has the old familiar responsibilities tugging at her.   But yes, Bill just an old home body!  :D 



Name: lidarose13 (Signed) · Date: Nov 29, 2010 09:11 AM · For: Chapter 10
More, more, more and did I mention we need more...this is haunting in its what if world. It's all topsyturvy with Bill loving Laura and Laura loving Bill but a whole different set of forces keeping them apart.

Sheer genius as always.

Kindest regards,
ljd

Author's Response:

There's more for sure!  I just need to find the energy to post!   I did enjoy creating this topsy-turvy world.  A chance for them to just be a normal couple, living on a freighter.  

Hope you enjoy the rest!  



Name: Ava (Signed) · Date: Nov 27, 2010 08:36 AM · For: Chapter 5
In love with this story ....word....

Author's Response: Thank you!  It was fun to write and I'm glad to share!  


You must login (register) to review.