Survival Instinct
William Adama and Laura Roslin Fanfiction

Information

Site Stats

Members: 5621
Series: 49
Stories: 2969
Chapters: 7269
Word count: 12456114
Authors: 347
Reviews: 33023
Reviewers: 1104
Newest Member: Aphrodites_
 

Most Recent

The Beauty of Love by Kaitlynnlovescats96 T
Bill and Laura take a moment for themselves while orbiting Earth and their story continues after they land on Earth. Takes places during Daybreak, the...
A Handful of Lauras by Emma Ockham MA

Bïll's grief over Laura's death is softened by her journals and then brusquely interrupted when a Cylon copy of Laura Roslin arrivés in the Fleet.

Distraction by Emma Ockham MA
With Saul passed out on the couch, Laura tries to seduce Bill.

Story of the Moment

A Very Adama-Roslin Solstice by SpyBarbie K
"I had hoped they'd be over it by now.""It's getting better. You haven't had...

Who's Online

Guests: 2
Members:

Info for Writers

Useful reading for improving your writing can be found at HollyLisle.com

Style Switcher

Poll

Would you be interested in Audio versions of some of our A/R stories (with author permission of course)?

yes, excellent idea
yes, excellent idea 32%
no, I take my fix via my eyes
no, I take my fix via my eyes 12%
yes, and I want to help
yes, and I want to help 5%
only if Eddie Olmos is reading...
only if Eddie Olmos is reading... 50%
Poll Archive

Reviews For Unbreakable

Name: adamalove777 (Signed) · Date: Dec 19, 2012 07:09 PM · For: Chapter 22
This was AMAZING! Literally I know no other way to describe it! At first, I almost didn't read it because I usually am wary of things that are too A/U. But this was...GAHHH! You seriously have a future in writing! It was really interesting and it was kind of fun to see Laura as a rich society women, without the weight of the world upon her shoulders. Excellent job! Definitely one of my favorite stories I've ever read on this site!(Huggles*)

Author's Response: Bugs and I are extremely proud of this fic. We had great fun writing it. Now and then we find Laura gets away on us in this universe, more than Bill, but hopefully overall they remain mostly in character. Future in writing. Hee. If only someone would pay us for it! LOL Hope you enjoy the other Adamsverse stories just as much. Thanks, Aussie.


Name: twinkleberri (Signed) · Date: May 19, 2012 06:01 PM · For: Chapter 1
I'm not always a big fan of A/U, but this was very well done! I enjoy that both Bill & Laura retain their core characteristics, even in totally different places. You did a great job keeping some of the same themes and conflicts of BSG without becoming too tied to them. Solid adventure story and great character development!

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving a review to let us know you liked this story. This one is particular dear to our hearts, and we're pleased that others enjoy it as much as we enjoyed writing it.

We write quite a lot of a/u between us, so hopefully we're adept at keeping Laura and Bill in character no matter what their setting by now!

Thanks, Aussie.


Name: Madi92 (Signed) · Date: Apr 25, 2011 01:30 PM · For: Chapter 22
Oh it was wonderful... I was just thinking will you write a squale?

Author's Response: We have 2 sequels planned. :)


Name: cocoxix (Signed) · Date: Mar 07, 2011 07:15 PM · For: Chapter 1
It's just like an Agatha Christie!

Author's Response: Yes! LOL The smell of almonds was always in her books!


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 03:20 PM · For: Chapter 22
*happy sigh* This was such a great story. It had mystery, suspense, humour, romance.... all woven together seamlessly. I love the way you kept the mystery and action exciting without losing the important emotional journey between these two. It wasn't all kittens and moonbeams for Bill and Laura - like any two adults in love, they had to work on things to make it right. That kind of journey makes the resolution at the end so much more satisfying.
You guys are one helluva team. As I've said before, individually I adore both of your stories; but together? Man! You're top-notch! :D
Thanks for all your work on this fantastic story. I am now beyond excited for the rest of "Unstoppable"!

P.S. Okay, I'm done spamming you now, I swear... lol

Author's Response: We're glad you enjoyed it. We keep saying, but I'm sure it sounds like an old cliche, that we're having heaps of fun writing it. I think our many im's plotting take much longer than the actual writing. Thanks for your reviews. Spamming is fine. :)


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 02:55 PM · For: Chapter 21
Oh my gods. I've been following the perfect translation of canon to AU all the way through, but I was still SHOCKED by what happened in this chapter. It wasn't until after the reveal of who was shot that went "HOLY CRAP! It's the frakkin' season 1 finale!!!"
I can't say it enough - you guys are amazing.

Author's Response: We actually decided on Sharon being the killer and shooting Bill pretty early on. We then spent the whole time trying to fit in 'clues' so the big reveal would ring 'true' in relation to her behaviour throughout the fic, but not enough clues that everyone would guess! Harder than it sounds! LOL


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 02:44 PM · For: Chapter 20
Gah!! You're as good as RDM at nail-biting cliffhangers! I'm glad I don't have to wait for the next installment!
And, am I a total sap for welling up at this line: "Love you, my girl,"... you guys just painted the scene so well, and I wasn't sure if they were both gonna make it...

Author's Response: Oh, yes, we need cliffhangers at the end of chapters. It is part of the reason why the final chapter is so long! We couldn't think of a suitable nail-biting cliffhanger! We're both sure Bill said he loved Laura numerous times in canon.


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 02:13 PM · For: Chapter 18
Dang! Holy exciting!! You two sure know how to write.

Author's Response: Oh chapter 18. That was funny actually. We wrote it here and there, and after reading it through from start to finish, we were exhausted! We had no idea how much we crammed in there until afterwards!


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 01:49 PM · For: Chapter 15
So, clearly I couldn't stay away long, lol... I'm taking a break... *shifty-eyes* :P

You guys are actually killing me with the descriptions of Bill. Cashmere sweaters that hug his form... and GUH those biceps!

Author's Response: We are Bill fangirls, must admit. Out and proud!


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 11:54 AM · For: Chapter 13
:( I want to keep reading but I have to pause to do homework.... Not that you really needed to know that, lol...
I realize I just reviewed the last chapter, but I just wanted to say that you guys use flashbacks so effectively. The way you unravel the story out of sequence makes it all the more riveting.
Okay, I'll stop spamming you guys for a while now, lol. More upon my return... :)

Author's Response: Okay, I have to credit bugs again! Yes, there were parts I wrote, promise! LOL She wrote all Laura's flashback. And it's beautiful.


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 11:44 AM · For: Chapter 12
ROFL!! I loved the comedy of errors in this chapter!! Bill and the robe had me dying; and then the whole gang back-seat driving when Bill was trying to break in. LMAO!! So good!
Also, *shakes fist at Jaffee*... talk about inopportune timing! -.- lol

Author's Response: Bill in the robe is gorgeous. I think because he is so manly. Makes it funnier.


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 11:19 AM · For: Chapter 9
Oh no!!!!! I had a feeling Bill was going to end up in a sticky situation... Damn Richard's a prick. >.< "...his face like an oozing oil spill" - brilliant line! Very evocative. :)
This story has me on the edge of my seat!! You guys are brilliant! I was literally holding my breath I was so worried about Jake when the shooting started at the club.

Author's Response: LOL that you were worried about Jake! What about Bill! And I have to give bugs all credit for brilliant similies and metaphors. I just write a sentence and say 'insert brilliant similie here', which she does. :)


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 10:43 AM · For: Chapter 5
Just pausing to say two things...
1) Dude, I love mystery/suspense novels and this is turning out to be quite the intriguing mystery!!
2) AWWWWW, Jake is the most adorable thing ever!! XD I love that he goes everywhere with them!!

Author's Response: We were just moaning that we had no mystery for the prequel. However, I promise there is one for the sequel! Bugs was very funny when we introduced Jake. She had the dog written as Aster. I was 'what!? It has to be Jake!'


Name: AR90 (Signed) · Date: Mar 05, 2011 09:55 AM · For: Chapter 2
Since I had a vote on both sides, I caved because I couldn't resist and decided to read this one while I wait. You guys are *brilliant*. The tie-ins are SEAMLESS! I genuinely chuckled when I read the name of the club. Very well done indeed! What's more, you guys have clearly taken care to match your language to the era ("Occidental", for instance...) - know that none of the little details has gone unnoticed! I'm a sucker for details and you two have definitely delivered.
Also, I have to say, it's a rare treat reading a fic that is so well polished, language-wise. The grammar is excellent, and the prose in general is a pleasure to read. You exercise sophisticated vocabularies without making it feel awkward or forced.
Finally, before I dive back in, on the suave and dapper image of Bill Adama (or, EJO frankly) in a crisp white dinner jacket and titled fedora.... *DROOOOOOOLS* XD
Off to read some more... I'll drop a few more reviews along the way. :)

Author's Response: I thought you should read this one first. Some things just wouldn't be as funny. Like Laura's driving for example. We have been trying with the appropriate language, but I'm sure there are some things we've missed. Well polished language and grammar? LOL, that's my influence -- the sophisticated Australian! Seriously, I think we both are so obsessed with a/r that we write them. How they would speak and how they would act. Oh, I know what you mean about Bill. I mean, guh. (Am becoming incoherent here.)


Name: lidarose13 (Signed) · Date: Mar 02, 2011 05:47 AM · For: Chapter 22
You know "The Thin Man" was a series not just a one shot effort so hoping that there is more to come in this 'Verse.

I'm going back to read and savor this from the start. I love the time period you used and how there ups and downs for newlyweds along with visits from many of our favorites.

Take a bow, this is outstanding.

Kindest regards,
ljd

Author's Response: Hee, yes, we do know there was more than one Thin Man movie. But you might want to get out Woman of the Year and pop it in the dvd player for our next installment. Bugs and I are glad you enjoyed, and we both really appreciate your reviews. Thanks. :)


You must login (register) to review.